“HOME” ESMoA

2015/01/img_6804.png
An unplanned visit to the local art museum down in El Segundo. The exhibition ends on February 1, 2015, but it has been on display for the public since October 12, 2014. 2015/01/img_6803.jpg     I was finally able to drop by and briefly check out the displays. I was taken aback on the interest I had with the exhibition. I have been associated with ESMoA a few times and I follow their activities. When I first heard of the “HOME” exhibition along with the photos from the exhibition, my initial thoughts were “drop dead boring”. I was expecting it to have a boring wooden chairs and other items, and honestly I was wondering why are they showing furniture, their last display was way more entertaining? I was wrong. It never occurred to me the details on the furniture around us, ’till I visited the exhibit today.

2015/01/img_6801.jpg
Today, I was surprised on how much I liked it. It showed more than what I expected. Modern yet it showed some history. Although most of the display were simple, it did not meant that it was boring. It showed a balance in cubicle that the furniture was in, simplicity was really more.

2015/01/img_6795.jpg
They also displayed some paintings and photographs along with the furniture. Most of the paintings were from old eras, I didn’t quite examine any of the paintings, nor did I read any of the information about the exhibition (I know, shame on me). I just walked in and just had a quick look with the whole museum.

2015/01/img_6797.jpg
I had a limited amount of time looking around, but that did not stop me to take some shots of the exhibit. Later on, I decided that my shots would look cool if I edited them. All I could do was add a black and white filter on each one (I used the app on my phone: VSCOcam).

2015/01/img_6802.jpg
This is probably the piece that intrigued me the most. I was really drawn by the design and patterns of the shower cover. It was on silk, and it was inspired by a broken house from a deserted place. I wish I had more time to read the description of the artist and the story behind the piece. I informed that next Sunday, the artist herself will be at the museum talking about her piece and I plan to attend her visitation.
2015/01/img_6799.jpg

2015/01/img_6800.jpg

2015/01/img_6798.jpg

2015/01/img_6793.jpg
Visit ESMoA’s website: http://esmoa.org/

Leave a comment